During the highlighted phase of mitosis the chromosomes are?

Last Update: May 30, 2022

This is a question our experts keep getting from time to time. Now, we have got the complete detailed explanation and answer for everyone, who is interested!

Asked by: Dr. Dorian Jaskolski
Score: 4.9/5 (55 votes)

Question: During the highlighted phase of mitosis, the chromosomes are moving away from each other toward opposite poles of the cell O aligned in the center of the cell O returning to chromatin form attaching to mitotic spindle microtubules at the centromere merphase The cell cycle is divided into two main parts, ...

Where are the chromosomes aligned during the highlighted phase of mitosis?

Metaphase. Chromosomes line up at the metaphase plate, under tension from the mitotic spindle. The two sister chromatids of each chromosome are captured by microtubules from opposite spindle poles. In metaphase, the spindle has captured all the chromosomes and lined them up at the middle of the cell, ready to divide.

In which phase of the cell cycle is the highlighted cell?

In the cell cycle, the interphase is the period prior to cell division. Compared with the duration of the mitotic phase, the interphase generally has longer duration. In interphase, there is no cell division occurring at this phase. Rather, it is highlighted by cell growth and DNA replication.

What cell type is highlighted?

Highlighted epithelium is pseudostratified columnar epithelium. The highlighted region is mucin, secreted by the cell.

What happens during mitosis phase quizlet?

What is mitosis? ... What happens during mitosis ? Is the time during which the duplicated chromosomes (known as the sister chromatids) separate into two daughter nuclei, and the cell divides into two daughter cells, each with a full copy of DNA. What are the stages of mitosis?

mitosis 3d animation |Phases of mitosis|cell division

17 related questions found

What are the two stages of the mitotic phase quizlet?

Terms in this set (5) First stage of mitosis, during which the cell's chromatin condenses into chromosomes. The second stage of cell division, between prophase and anaphase, during which the chromosomes become attached to the spindle fibers.

What are the phases of mitosis?

These phases are prophase, prometaphase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase. Cytokinesis is the final physical cell division that follows telophase, and is therefore sometimes considered a sixth phase of mitosis.

Which region of the skin is highlighted?

The region of the skin is highlighted is the epidermis. The region of the skin is highlighted is the epidermis.

Which structures are highlighted nodes of Ranvier?

nodes of Ranvier axons myelin sheaths fascicles.

What cranial nerve is highlighted?

Optic nerve: An illustration of the brain highlighting the optic nerve and optic tract. The optic nerve is the second of twelve paired cranial nerves.

What structure connects the highlighted muscle cells to one another?

Cardiomyocyte attach to one another with specialized cell junctions called intercalated discs. Intercalated discs have both anchoring junctions and gap junctions.

What is the function of the highlighted tissue?

Question: The function of the highlighted tissue, along with four others that form a ring at the junction of the oral cavity and oropharynx and at the junction of the nasal cavity and nasopharynx, is to participate in responses against inhaled or ingested substances.

What is accomplished during mitosis?

Mitosis is a process where a single cell divides into two identical daughter cells (cell division). During mitosis one cell? divides once to form two identical cells. The major purpose of mitosis is for growth and to replace worn out cells.

What are the 5 stages of mitosis and what is occurring at each?

Mitosis has five different stages: interphase, prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase. The process of cell division is only complete after cytokinesis, which takes place during anaphase and telophase. Each stage of mitosis is necessary for cell replication and division.

What type of cell does mitosis create?

During mitosis, a eukaryotic cell undergoes a carefully coordinated nuclear division that results in the formation of two genetically identical daughter cells. Mitosis itself consists of five active steps, or phases: prophase, prometaphase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase.

What are Ranvier's nodes?

Node of Ranvier, periodic gap in the insulating sheath (myelin) on the axon of certain neurons that serves to facilitate the rapid conduction of nerve impulses. ... Nodes of Ranvier are approximately 1 μm wide and expose the neuron membrane to the external environment.

Which structure is highlighted basal nuclei?

Substantia nigra highlighted in red. Section through superior colliculus showing Substantia nigra. The substantia nigra (SN) is a basal ganglia structure located in the midbrain that plays an important role in reward and movement.

What is Endoneurial?

The endoneurium is a space bounded by the perineurium and includes the nerve fibers, supporting glia, and extracellular matrix containing collagen. From: Multiple Sclerosis As A Neuronal Disease, 2005.

What are the two main layers of the epidermis?

The Stratum Granulosum & the Stratum Lucidum

The keratinocytes from the squamous layer are then pushed up through two thin epidermal layers called the stratum granulosum and the stratum lucidum.

What are the 7 layers of skin?

What are the seven most important layers of your skin?
  • Stratum corneum.
  • Stratum lucidum.
  • Stratum granulosum.
  • Stratum spinosum.
  • Stratum basale.
  • Dermis.
  • Hypodermis.

What are the five layers of the epidermis?

The layers of the epidermis include the stratum basale (the deepest portion of the epidermis), stratum spinosum, stratum granulosum, stratum lucidum, and stratum corneum (the most superficial portion of the epidermis).

How many chromosomes are in each phase of mitosis?

Once mitosis is complete, the cell has two groups of 46 chromosomes, each enclosed with their own nuclear membrane. The cell then splits in two by a process called cytokinesis, creating two clones of the original cell, each with 46 monovalent chromosomes.

What are the 4 phases of mitosis and what happens in each?

There are four stages of mitosis: prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase.1) Prophase: chromatin into chromosomes, the nuclear envelope break down, chromosomes attach to spindle fibres by their centromeres 2) Metaphase: chromosomes line up along the metaphase plate (centre of the cell) 3) Anaphase: sister ...

What is the correct order of steps in the cell cycle?

The cell cycle is a four-stage process in which the cell increases in size (gap 1, or G1, stage), copies its DNA (synthesis, or S, stage), prepares to divide (gap 2, or G2, stage), and divides (mitosis, or M, stage). The stages G1, S, and G2 make up interphase, which accounts for the span between cell divisions.